Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

Core Facilities

Tulane University has research core facilities that are available to research groups/investigators. As noted in the list below, these cores are usually under administrative control of a research center. Detailed information about the core can be found in the synopsis and/or on the core website. Contact information for the director and other contact for the core is listed below.

Coordinated Instrumentation Facility

George Flowers
flowers@tulane.edu
504-865-5198
Synopsis


 

Cancer Genetics Program – COBRE Core

Erik Flemington
eflemin@tulane.edu
504-988-1167


 

Tulane Center for Aging - Genomics and Biostatistics Core

504-988-3090


 

Clinical & Translational Core Facility

Shanker Japa, PhD
japashan@tulane.edu
504-988-4011


 

Molecular Imaging and Analytical Core - THRCE

504-988-4364


 

Animal and Gene Targeted Core Facility

Ryosuke Sato
rsato@tulane.edu

Kailash Pandey
kpandey@tulane.edu
504-988-1628


 

Mouse Phenotyping Core Facility

Dewan S.A. Majid
majid@tulane.edu
504-988-1628


 

Seahorse - Cellular Bioenergetics Core - Med and Pharm

Prasad V.G. Katakam
pkatakam@tulane.edu
504-988-1426


 

Louisiana Cancer Research Consortium/Tulane Cancer Center Cores

Cancer Crusaders Next Generation Sequence Analysis Core
Erik Flemington
eflemin@tulane.edu
504-988-1167

Cell Analysis Core Facility
Prescott Deininger
pdeinin@tulane.edu
504-988-6385

Tulane Cancer Center Office of Clinical Research
Aniko Vigh
avigh@tulane.edu
504-988-6121

Biospecimen Core
Krzysztof Moroz
kmoroz@tulane.edu
504-988-6199


 
ACL/BSL Core Facility

Chris Monjure
504-988-6368
cmonjure@tulane.edu
 


 

Tulane Center for Gene Therapy Cores

Real-Time PCR Core
Christine McBride
robinson@tulane.edu
504-988-7071

Affymetrix Microarray Core
Justin Manges
jmanges@tulane.edu
504-988-7063

DNA Diagnostics Core
Charlene Crain
ccrain@tulane.edu         
504-988-7706

DNA Sequencing Core
Justin Manges
jmanges@tulane.edu
504-988-7063

Flow Cytometry and Cell Sorting Core
Alan Tucker
atucker@tulane.edu
504-988-7741

Histology Core
Dina Gaupp or Claire Llamas  
dgaupp@tulane.edu
504-988-1194

Tissue Culture Core Facility
Margie McCants
mmccants@tulane.edu
504-988-7714

Microscopy Core Facility
Michael Raeder
mraeder@tulane.edu
504-458-1364


 

Hayward Genetics Center Cores

Biochemical Genetics Core
Cytogenetic Core
Molecular Diagnostic Core

Hans Andersson
handers@tulane.edu
504-988-5229


 

Tulane National Primate Research Center Cores

Vector Borne Diseases Core
DNA Microarray and Expression Core

Mario Philipp
TNPRC-BactPar@tulane.edu
504-862-8040

Anatomic Pathology Core
Clinical Pathology Laboratory Core
Molecular Pathology Core
Confocal Microscopy and Image Analysis Core

Ronald Veazey
TNPRC-ComPath@tulane.edu
504-862-8040

Nonhuman Primate Stem Cell Production Core
Bruce Bunnell
TNPRC-Gene@tulane.edu
504-862-8040

Infectious Disease Aerobiology Core
Chad J. Roy
croy@tulane.edu
985-871-6417

Flow Cytometry Core
Immunology Core

Marcelo Kuroda
TNPRC-Immun@tulane.edu
504-862-8040

Viral Characterization, Isolation, and Production Core
Pathogen Detection and Quantification Core
Infectious Disease Aerobiology Core

Preston Marx
TNPRC-Micro@tulane.edu
504-862-8040

Collaborative Research Resources
James Blanchard
TNPRC-CollRes@tulane.edu
504-862-8040


 

Transgenic Mouse Facility

Ann Mullin
amullin@tulane.edu
504-865-6742


 

Shared Instrumentation Facility- Tulane University School of Medicine - Department of Biochemistry

implant@tulane.edu
Imaging and Detection
Sample Processing & Analysis
Liquid Chromoatography
Centrifugation


 

Molecular Neuroscience Core Facility (A joint project of Tulane University and Louisiana State University)

Jeffrey G. Tasker, Director
tasker@tulane.edu
504-862-8762

Molecular Biology

Single cell RT-PCR

  • RT-PCR (genotyping)
  • Realtime PCR (relative or absolute quantitation)
  • Northern Blotting
  • in situ Hybridization

Carmel Bridgeman, Coordinator
cbridgem@tulane.edu
504-862-8195

Protein Biochemistry

  • Western Blotting
  • Cryo-sectioning
  • Cell Culture
  • Enzymatic activity assays
  • ELISA

Recombinant Virus Production
The MNCF can generate, expand, and titer three commonly used viruses.

  • Lentivirus
  • Adeno-associated virus
  • Pseudorabies virus